“COMPANY OF THE YEAR 2017.”
Magazin „tanz“

“EXPRESSIVE, POWERFUL AND SEXY.”
Kenny Farquharson, The Times


The Ballett am Rhein has thrilled audiences ever since its relaunch in 2009 under the direction of Martin Schläpfer. No other company in Germany can match the breadth of its repertoire combined with a reputation for work of outstanding quality, which pioneers “the art of ballet in the 21st century”. Since the 2016/17 season, Ballet Director Remus Şucheană manages the Ballett am Rhein alongside Artistic Director and Principal Choreographer Martin Schläpfer.

The company is made up of 43 dancers working on the basis of classical danse d’école, yet each individual is a powerful soloist with a distinct personality and expression of movement. This extraordinary ensemble of dance artists, combined with Martin Schläpfer’s remarkable imagination and talent in creating ballet programmes, delights audiences of all ages and nationalities. German tanz magazine awarded the Ballett am Rhein as “Company of the Year” in four successive years in 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2017.

The Ballett am Rhein performs Martin Schläpfer’s ballets along with numerous world premieres and many major works from over 170 years of dance history. This covers a spectrum from Frederick Ashton, George Balanchine, August Bournonville, Kurt Jooss, Jerome Robbins and Antony Tudor to Trisha Brown, Merce Cunningham, William Forsythe, Mark Morris, Ohad Naharin, Paul Taylor and Twyla Tharp. Choreographers such as Nils Christe, Mats Ek, Marco Goecke, Jiří Kylián, Sol León & Paul Lightfoot, Amanda Miller or Regina van Berkel work with the Ballett am Rhein at the same time as Robert Binet, Natalia Horecna, Young Soon Hue, Brigitta Luisa Merki, Terence Kohler, Ben J. Riepe or Remus Şucheană. In addition, the ensemble is regarded as one of the leading interpreters of Dutch choreographer Hans van Manen.

While its home is at the Deutsche Oper am Rhein Düsseldorf Duisburg, the Ballett am Rhein can be seen outside in numerous international touring engagements and at leading festivals. Recent highlights include performances at the Edinburgh International Festival, in Paris, Amsterdam, Den Haag, Maastricht, Barcelona, Bilbao, Geneva, Moscow, Muscat (Oman), Tel Aviv, St. Pölten, Berlin, Bonn, Gütersloh, Hannover, Cologne, Ludwigsburg, Ludwigshafen, Munich and Wiesbaden. The Ballet’s invitations for the 2018/19 season include a Taiwan Tour with performances in Weiwuying and Taichung, and guest performances at the Teatro Real Madrid, the Oper Köln and Ludwigsburger Schlossfestspiele among others. With the re-staging of Merce Cunningham’s “Night Wandering” in June 2019 the company will be part of the Merce Cunningham Centenary, an international celebration of the American choreographer.

As musical partners, the Ballett am Rhein has two high-class orchestras at its disposal in the Düsseldorfer Symphoniker and the Duisburger Philharmoniker. In 2014, “DEEP FIELD” with a commissioned score by Adriana Hölszky marked its first collaboration with the WDR Rundfunkchor Cologne. On tour, the Ballett am Rhein has worked together with the Royal Scottish Symphony Orchestra, the Orchestra of the Stanislavsky Music Theatre Moscow, the Württembergische Kammerphilharmonie, the Tonkünstler Orchestra of Lower Austria, the Bachchor Mainz and many others.

„KOMPANIE DES JAHRES 2017.“
Zeitschrift tanz

„EXPRESSIVE, POWERFUL AND SEXY.“
Kenny Farquharson, The Times


Das 2009 von Martin Schläpfer neu formierte Ballett am Rhein Düsseldorf Duisburg zählt zu den erfolgreichsten deutschen Ballettcompagnien. Kaum ein anderes deutsches Ensemble verbindet in vergleichbarer Weise ein breites Repertoire mit Uraufführungen, die sich als „Ballettkunst für das 21. Jahrhundert“ verstehen. Seit 2016/17 leitet Ballettdirektor Remus Şucheană an der Seite von Martin Schläpfer als Künstlerischer Direktor und Chefchoreograph das Ballett am Rhein.

Die 42 Tänzerinnen und Tänzer der Compagnie arbeiten auf der Basis der klassischen Danse d’école. Jeder von ihnen ist aber zugleich ein Solist von ausdrucksstarker Individualität. Die besondere Verbindung eines Ensembles aus derartigen Tanzkünstlern mit Martin Schläpfers Imaginationskraft und außergewöhnlicher Programmierung der Spielpläne fasziniert Zuschauer jeden Alters und aller Nationalitäten und brachte dem Ballett am Rhein in der internationalen Kritikerumfrage der Zeitschrift tanz viermal in Folge 2013, 2014, 2015 und 2017 den Titel „Kompanie des Jahres“ ein.

Neben den Arbeiten Martin Schläpfers findet das Repertoire des Balletts am Rhein sein Profil in einem sorgfältig geplanten Zusammenspiel aus zahlreichen Uraufführungen und historischen Meisterwerken aus über 170 Jahren Tanzgeschichte. Der Bogen spannt sich dabei von Frederick Ashton, George Balanchine, August Bournonville, Kurt Jooss, Jerome Robbins und Antony Tudor zu Trisha Brown, Merce Cunningham, William Forsythe, Mark Morris, Ohad Naharin, Paul Taylor und Twyla Tharp. Choreographen wie Nils Christe, Mats Ek, Marco Goecke, Jiří Kylián, Sol León & Paul Lightfoot, Amanda Miller oder Regina van Berkel arbeiteten ebenso mit dem Ballett am Rhein wie Robert Binet, Natalia Horecna, Young Soon Hue, Brigitta Luisa Merki, Terence Kohler, Ben J. Riepe oder Remus Şucheană. Darüber hinaus zählt das Ensemble zu den wichtigsten Interpreten des Niederländers Hans van Manens.

Seine Heimat hat das Ensemble an der Deutschen Oper am Rhein mit ihren beiden Spielstätten – dem Opernhaus Düsseldorf und Theater Duisburg. Darüber hinaus ist das Ballett am Rhein aber auch auf internationalen Gastspielen und bei renommierten Festivals zu erleben. Zu den jüngeren Highlights zählten Auftritte beim Edinburgh International Festival, in Paris, Amsterdam, Den Haag, Maastricht, Barcelona, Bilbao, Genf, Moskau, Muscat (Oman), Tel Aviv, St. Pölten, Berlin, Bonn, Gütersloh, Hannover, Köln, Ludwigsburg, Ludwigshafen, München und Wiesbaden. 2018/19 gibt das Ballett am Rhein sein Debüt im Teatro Real Madrid und ist u.a. in Köln, bei den Ludwigsburger Schlossfestspielen sowie – mit dem National Symphony Orchestra of Taiwan – auf einer Taiwan-Tournee in Kaohsiung und Taichung zu erleben. Mit der Neueinstudierung von Merce Cunninghams „Night Wandering“ im Juni 2019 beteiligt sich die Compagnie an den internationalen Feierlichkeiten zum 100. Geburtstag des Amerikaners.

Als musikalische Partner stehen dem Ballett am Rhein mit den Düsseldorfer Symphonikern und Duisburger Philharmonikern zwei hochkarätige Klangkörper zur Verfügung. 2014 kam es im Rahmen von „DEEP FIELD“ zu einer Auftragskomposition von Adriana Hölszky außerdem erstmals zu einer Zusammenarbeit mit dem WDR Rundfunkchor Köln. Auf Gastspielen arbeitete das Ballett am Rhein u.a. mit dem Royal Scottish National Orchestra, dem Orchester des Stanislavsky-Theaters Moskau, der Württembergischen Kammerphilharmonie, dem Tonkünstler-Orchester Niederösterreich und dem Bachchor Mainz zusammen.