• Madama Butterfly © Hans Jörg Michel
  • Madama Butterfly © Hans Jörg Michel
  • Madama Butterfly © Hans Jörg Michel
  • Madama Butterfly © Hans Jörg Michel
  • Madama Butterfly © Hans Jörg Michel
  • Madama Butterfly © Hans Jörg Michel
  • Madama Butterfly © Hans Jörg Michel
  • Madama Butterfly © Hans Jörg Michel
  • Madama Butterfly © Hans Jörg Michel
  • Madama Butterfly © Hans Jörg Michel
  • Madama Butterfly © Hans Jörg Michel
  • Madama Butterfly © Hans Jörg Michel
  • Madama Butterfly © Hans Jörg Michel
  • Madama Butterfly © Hans Jörg Michel

Giacomo Puccini

Madama Butterfly

18. November 2017 - 13. July 2018

ACT ONE

The American naval officer Benjamin Franklin Pinkerton is looking for a house in Nagasaki for the duration of his posting to Japan. In keeping with Japanese tradition he agrees a contract with Goro, a real estate and marriage broker which provides him with a house and a Japanese bride, the geisha girl Cio-Cio-San, also known as “Butterfly”, for a term of 999 years. The key point of this agreement is that Pinkerton is allowed to cancel both the marriage and the rental agreement at any time.

On the day of the wedding he waits impatiently for his bride. He regards the Japanese wedding ceremony as no more than a tiresome formality to be got out of the way as soon as possible. He is greeted by the American consul Sharpless. In the light of Pinkerton’s enthusiasm for his non-binding rental and marriage contracts, he advises him not to treat this relationship too recklessly. Cio-Cio-San, on the other hand, takes the marriage very seriously. She has already been to the American consulate to find out about America and to the Christian mission to take her husband’s faith.

Once Cio-Cio-San appears together with her friends and relatives, the ceremony can be completed. The celebrations which follow are abruptly interrupted by her furious uncle Bonzo. He has learned that Butterfly has renounced her Japanese religion and curses her. The rest of the family also rejects her.

That evening Butterfly is made ready for her wedding night by her servant Suzuki. The enamoured Pinkerton can hardly wait to be alone with his “plaything”. Butterfly confesses that she truly loves him.


ACT TWO

Three years have passed since Pinkerton’s departure. Ostracised by society and her family, Butterfly lives alone with Suzuki. While Butterfly waits resolutely each day for her husband to return, Suzuki has doubts whether Pinkerton will keep his promise to return.

Sharpless visits Butterfly to deliver a letter from Pinkerton. His cautious efforts to prepare her for the news that Pinkerton is on the way to Japan, though not to see her, fail. Cio-Cio-San prevents him from reading out the letter which contains the bitter truth.

Though she is in desperate need of money, she rejects the rich Yamadori when he asks for her hand. She believes too strongly in her “American” marriage, which – unlike a Japanese one – is binding. When Sharpless advises her to accept Yamadori’s proposal, Butterfly shows him her child, Pinkerton’s son – whom she sees as the symbol of her unbreakable bond with Pinkerton.

Cannon fire announces the arrival of a ship. Butterfly is convinced: this must be Pinkerton. She and Suzuki spread out flowers to welcome him. Then, with the child, she waits all night for Pinkerton.


ACT THREE

By daybreak Pinkerton still has not arrived. Butterfly lies down exhausted, ready for sleep. Ultimately Sharpless and Pinkerton enter accompanied by Pinkerton’s new wife Kate. Sharpless reveals to Suzuki that the couple has come to take the child away with them to America. Pinkerton, who avoids any encounter with Butterfly, withdraws from the situation and runs away.

When Cio-Cio-San wakes and sees this foreign woman, she understands immediately. However, she is only prepared to hand the child to Pinkerton himself. Suzuki attempts to stay with her but Butterfly sends everyone away. She says farewell to her life. Then she commits suicide with her father’s dagger.
Kritik in der Rheinischen Post www.rp-online.de

Kritik in der Westdeutschen Zeitung www.wz.de

Kritik in der Westdeutschen Allgemeinen Zeitung www.waz.de

Kritik im Online Musik Magazin www.omm.de


Erlebte Oper: Das sagen unsere OPERNSCOUTS

Recommendations

• Madama Butterfly © Hans Jörg Michel
  • Madama Butterfly © Hans Jörg Michel
  • Madama Butterfly © Hans Jörg Michel
  • Madama Butterfly © Hans Jörg Michel
  • Madama Butterfly © Hans Jörg Michel
  • Madama Butterfly © Hans Jörg Michel
  • Madama Butterfly © Hans Jörg Michel
  • Madama Butterfly © Hans Jörg Michel
  • Madama Butterfly © Hans Jörg Michel
  • Madama Butterfly © Hans Jörg Michel
  • Madama Butterfly © Hans Jörg Michel
  • Madama Butterfly © Hans Jörg Michel
  • Madama Butterfly © Hans Jörg Michel

Giacomo Puccini

Madama Butterfly

18. November 2017 - 13. Juli 2018

ERSTER AKT

Der amerikanische Marineoffizier Benjamin Franklin Pinkerton sucht für die Zeit seiner Stationierung in Japan ein Haus in Nagasaki. Mit Goro, Makler und Heiratsvermittler, schließt er nach japanischer Tradition einen Vertrag, der ihm ein Haus und eine japanische Braut, das Geisha-Mädchen Cio-Cio-San, auch „Butterfly“ genannt, für eine Dauer von 999 Jahren zusichert. Dass Pinkerton jederzeit ebenso seine Ehe annullieren wie den Mietvertrag widerrufen kann, ist der Clou dieser Vereinbarung.

Am Hochzeitstag wartet er ungeduldig auf seine Braut. Für ihn ist das japanische Hochzeitszeremoniell nicht mehr als eine lästige Notwendigkeit, die er schnell hinter sich bringen will. Zunächst begrüßt ihn der amerikanische Konsul Sharpless. Angesichts Pinkertons Schwärmerei über die unverbindlichen Haus- und Hochzeitsverträge erteilt er ihm den Rat, nicht zu unbesonnen mit diesem Bündnis umzugehen. Cio-Cio-San wiederum nimmt die Ehe sehr ernst. So hat sie sich bereits auf dem amerikanischen Konsulat nach Amerika erkundigt und in der christlichen Mission den Glauben ihres Bräutigams angenommen.

Als Cio-Cio-San mit ihren Freundinnen und Verwandten erscheint, kann die Zeremonie vollzogen werden. Die anschließende Hochzeitsfeier wird durch das Erscheinen des wütenden Onkel Bonzo jäh gestört. Er hat erfahren, dass Butterfly ihren japanischen Glauben abgelegt hat und verflucht sie; auch die übrige Familie wendet sich von ihr ab.
Am Abend wird Butterfly von ihrer Dienerin Suzuki für die Hochzeitsnacht zurechtgemacht. Der verliebte Pinkerton kann es kaum abwarten, mit seinem „Spielzeug“ allein zu sein. Butterfly gesteht ihm ihre aufrichtige Liebe.


ZWEITER AKT

Drei Jahre sind seit Pinkertons Abreise vergangen. – Von der Gesellschaft und Familie isoliert, lebt Butterfly allein mit Suzuki. Während Butterfly unbeirrt Tag für Tag auf die Rückkehr ihres Gatten wartet, hegt Suzuki Zweifel, ob Pinkerton sein Versprechen hält und wiederkommt.

Sharpless sucht Butterfly auf, um ihr einen Brief von Pinkerton auszuhändigen. Sein Versuch, sie behutsam darauf vorzubereiten, dass Pinkerton zwar auf dem Weg nach Japan ist, allerdings nicht ihretwegen, scheitert. Cio-Cio-San verhindert, dass er ihr den Brief mit der bitteren Wahrheit vorlesen kann.

Trotz Geldnot weist sie den reichen, um sie werbenden Yamadori zurück. Zu fest glaubt sie an ihre „amerikanische“ Ehe, die im Gegensatz zur japanischen bindend sei. Als Sharpless ihr rät, Yamadoris Antrag anzunehmen, präsentiert Butterfly ihr Kind, Pinkertons Sohn – für sie Symbol für ihre absolute Bindung zu Pinkerton.

Ein Kanonenschuss kündigt die Ankunft eines Schiffes an. Butterfly ist sich gewiss: es muss Pinkerton sein. Zum Empfang verstreut sie mit Suzuki Blumen und wartet mit dem Kind die ganze Nacht auf Pinkerton.


DRITTER AKT

Bei Tagesanbruch ist Pinkerton immer noch nicht eingetroffen. Butterfly legt sich erschöpft schlafen. Schließlich erscheinen Sharpless und Pinkerton in Begleitung seiner neuen Frau Kate. Sharpless offenbart Suzuki, dass das Ehepaar gekommen ist, um das Kind nach Amerika mitzunehmen. Pinkerton, der ein Wiedersehen mit Butterfly scheut, entzieht sich der Situation und flieht.
Kritik in der Westdeutschen Allgemeinen Zeitung www.waz.de

Kritik im Online Musik Magazin www.omm.de


Erlebte Oper: Das sagen unsere OPERNSCOUTS

Wir empfehlen