An evening of ballets choreographed by Juanjo Arqués and Demis Volpi

Far and near are all around

15. October 2020 - 24. October 2020

Duration: approx. 1 hour 10 minutes, no interval

The title for this evening, ‘Far and Near are All Around’ is taken from Caroline Shaw‘s ‘Partita for 8 Voices’.

In search of an epithet for the 21st century, the British author George Monbiot coined the term “The Age of Loneliness”. Despite ever closer communication and media networks it is above all the young generation that increasingly struggles with social isolation and difficulties in building relationships. Recent months have focussed attention on the often invisible phenomenon of loneliness.

In his first creation for the Ballett am Rhein, Juanjo Arqués looks behind their apparently protective facades to portray modern searchers. He has worked as a Young Creative Associate for Het Nationale Ballet Amsterdam since 2016 and his choreography ‘Ignite’ was nominated for the prestigious Prix Benois de la Danse in 2019.

To remain distanced but breathe together: this is how a company can still understand itself as a body that moves together – even in times like these. Demis Volpi’s world premiere focuses less on the isolation of individual people than on the isolation of single movements. Set to the American composer Caroline Shaw’s a cappella ‘Partita for 8 Voices’, bursting with a rich range of tone colours, Volpi searches for a language of movement that has a similarly strong sense of form combined with exuberant sensuality.

    Recommendations

Ein Ballettabend mit Choreographien von Juanjo Arqués und Demis Volpi

Far and near are all around

15. Oktober 2020 - 25. November 2020

Dauer: ca. 1 Stunde 10 Minuten, keine Pause

„Umgeben von Ferne und Nähe“ - so könnte man die titelgebenden Worte aus Caroline Shaws „Partita for 8 Voices“ frei übersetzen, die sich über den Abend schreiben.

Auf der Suche nach einem Beinamen für das 21. Jahrhundert, prägte der britische Autor George Monbiot den Begriff des „Zeitalters der Einsamkeit“. Trotz immer dichterer Kommunikation und medialer Vernetzung sei es vor allem die junge Generation, die zunehmend mit sozialer Isolation und Kontaktschwierigkeiten zu kämpfen habe. Die vergangenen Monate haben das oft unsichtbare Phänomen der Einsamkeit in ein breiteres Bewusstsein gerückt.

Juanjo Arqués wagt mit seiner ersten Kreation für das Ballett am Rhein einen Blick hinter scheinbar schützende Fassaden und zeichnet Porträts moderner Suchender. Seit 2016 ist er als young creative associate für das Het Nationale Ballet Amsterdam tätig und wurde u.a. 2019 mit seiner Choreographie „Ignite“ für den renommierten Prix Benois de la Danse nominiert.

Distanz wahren, aber gemeinsam atmen. So darf eine Compagnie – gerade in diesen Zeiten - sich dennoch als ein gemeinsam bewegender Körper verstehen. In der Uraufführung von Demis Volpi geht es weniger um die Vereinzelung des Menschen als um die Isolation der einzelnen Bewegung. Ausgehend von dem vor Klangfarben sprühenden A-cappella-Stück „Partita for 8 Voices“ der amerikanischen Komponistin Caroline Shaw sucht Volpi eine ähnlich streng-formale und gleichzeitig überbordend sinnliche Sprache.


Ballettführer Audio zu „Far and near are all around“ jetzt hier anhören

    Wir empfehlen