(c) Hans Jörg Michel
Der Ring an einem Abend
Richard Wagner / Loriot

Duration: about 3 ½ hours, one interval
Duration: about 3 ½ hours, one interval
In the Wagner jubilee year 2013, it is prophesied, Wagner’s tetralogy “The Nibelung’s Ring” will be performed a good twenty times somewhere in the world. Sixteen hours’ worth of visions of the fall of the world at each go, interpreted so variously that the human perceptive faculty cannot keep up. If you still want to know what it is all about, the theft of the Rhine Gold, the fatal power of the golden ring, the incestuous siblings, the father-daughter confrontation, the fearless bumpkin and the collapse of the entire edifice, there is always the condensed version by Loriot at your disposal. Genuinely well-informed and with all due respect for the subject-matter, Germany’s best-known author of humorous sketches and caricatures, the late Loriot, came to grips with Wagner’s massive work and distilled out of mythical monumentality a notably human story of love and envy, despotism and rebellion against it, couched in wittily flippant commentary. Loriot’s unique slant on the Ring was staged to celebrate the centenary of the Duisburg theatre, and a revival of the successful evening has been entrusted to the Duisburg Philharmonic under Axel Kober, a vocal ensemble well versed in Wagner, and the Ring commentator Rudolf Kowalski.

Musikalische Leitung Axel Kober
Erzähler Rudolf Kowalski
Alberich Oleg Bryjak
Woglinde Anke Krabbe / Heidi Elisabeth Meier / Sylvia Hamvasi
Wellgunde Marta Márquez
Flosshilde Iryna Vakula / Katarzyna Kuncio
Wotan Tomasz Konieczny / Jürgen Linn / Stefan Heidemann
Fricka Susan Maclean
Loge Bruce Rankin
Siegmund Corby Welch
Sieglinde Heike Wessels
Brünnhilde Linda Watson
Siegfried Michael Weinius
Helmwige Anke Krabbe / Josefine Weber
Ortlinde Elisabeth Selle / Katja Levin
Gerhilde Jessica Stavros
Siegrune Iryna Vakula / Katarzyna Kuncio
Waltraute Susan Maclean
Rossweisse Marta Márquez
Grimgerde Hagar Sharvit
Schwertleite Maria Kataeva / Julia Oesch
Mime Johannes Preißinger
Hagen Thorsten Grümbel
Gunther Dmitri Vargin
Gutrune Elisabeth Selle / Jessica Stavros
Orchester Duisburger Philharmoniker


E-Mail Adress Of Sender
Name Of Sender
E-Mail Adress of Receiver

» Absenden