Emma Warner (Flora), William Gardner (Miles), Sylvia Hamvasi (The Governess) | (c) Thilo Beu
The Turn of the Screw
Benjamin Britten
Duration: about 2¼ hours, one interval
Duration: about 2¼ hours, one interval
The chamber opera “the Turn of the Screw” by Benjamin Britten (1913-1976) is not set on the coast or at sea like other Britten operas, but on a secluded inland estate. He found the subject-matter in the eponymous novel by Henry James. The central character is a governess who undertakes entire responsibility for two orphan children and more and more is unable to meet the challenge. The children seem possessed by ghosts which haunt the house in the form of the two former servants Peter Quint and Miss Jessel. The more the governess seeks to protect the children from these evil apparitions, the more they slip out of her control.

Ghost story or psycho-drama? The screw of fantasy, obsession and real events is turned more and more tightly in Britten’s opera until the governess, in distraught determination to save the children from evil, herself brings about the catastrophe. Immo Karaman’s staging invokes a mysteriously inevitable drawing together of the figures which drags them inexorably into an inexpressible abyss. The factor that, like Henry James and Benjamin Britten himself, the director makes no attempt to offer the relief of a rational explanation, makes the pulse of the listener beat all the stronger and all the more uncontrollably.

In cooperation with Oper Leipzig
Benjamin Britten

Opera in two acts with a prologue
Libretto by Myfanwy Piper after Henry James
In English with German surtitles

Musikalische Leitung Wen-Pin Chien
Inszenierung Immo Karaman
Choreographie Fabian Posca
Bühne Kaspar Zwimpfer
Kostüme Marie-Luise Walek
Licht Michael Röger
Dramaturgie Sonja Westerbeck
The Prologue / Peter Quint Corby Welch
Darsteller Peter Quint Ulrich Kupas
The Governess Sylvia Hamvasi
Miles William Gardner / Matthew Price
Flora Emma Warner / Eleanor Burke
Mrs. Grose Marta Márquez
Miss Jessel Anke Krabbe
Erscheinung Miss Jessel Photini Meletiadis
Orchester Düsseldorfer Symphoniker


E-Mail Adress Of Sender
Name Of Sender
E-Mail Adress of Receiver

» Absenden