7 Martin Schläpfer | Marlúcia do Amaral, Marcos Menha | © Gert Weigelt
7 / Martin Schläpfer
Opernhaus Düsseldorf
Wednesday, 07. January 2015
19:30 - 21:00 hours
/ For the last time

Duration b.17: about 1 ½ hours, one interval
16,80 - 75,10 € Abo. 22
Duration b.17: about 1 ½ hours, one interval
Martin Schläpfer
Dancers in heavy boots and dark coats appear to arrive from a long journey into a world which could become their new home. Music and dance merge into a whirlpool of frantic activity and then suddenly there is total ease, subtle humour and childish naivety with virtuosity on pointe.

“Composing a symphony means, to me, building a new world with every available technical means” thus Gustav Mahler once summed up his own creative work. In Martin Schläpfer’s full-length ballet “7” the world becomes a stage on which the challenges of life seem to be literally written into the bodies of the dancers. The choreography finds its landscape of stance and friction in Mahler’s vast symphonic architecture. This together with deep inner conflicts and a restlessness anxiety continually collides in the music of the Seventh Symphony. Passages of other-worldly enchantment accompany those more banal. The homeward journey is no longer in contradiction to the state of vagrancy but seems within it to find itself.
Martin Schläpfer

MUSIC Symphony No.7 in E minor by Gustav Mahler

Choreographie Martin Schläpfer
Musikalische Leitung Axel Kober
Bühne und Kostüme Florian Etti
Licht Volker Weinhart
Tänzerinnen Sachika Abe, Ann-Kathrin Adam, Camille Andriot, Doris Becker, Wun Sze Chan, Sabrina Delafield, Mariana Dias, Sonia Dvorak, Nathalie Guth, Alexandra Inculet, Christine Jaroszewski, Yuko Kato, So-Yeon Kim, Helen Clare Kinney, Anne Marchand, Louisa Rachedi, Aryanne Raymundo, Claudine Schoch, Virginia Segarra Vidal, Elisabeta Stanculescu, Julie Thirault, Irene Vaqueiro
Tänzer Rashaen Arts, Christian Bloßfeld, Andriy Boyetskyy, Paul Calderone, Jackson Carroll, Martin Chaix, Odsuren Dagva, Michael Foster, Philip Handschin, Richard Jones, Sonny Locsin, Alexander McKinnon, Marcos Menha, Bruno Narnhammer, Chidozie Nzerem, Alban Pinet, Friedrich Pohl, Boris Randzio, Alexandre Simões
Orchester Düsseldorfer Symphoniker



E-Mail Adress Of Sender
Name Of Sender
E-Mail Adress of Receiver

» Absenden