Opera productions

The Opera Studio’s own stagings

(c) Frank Heller(c) Frank Heller
Besides being involved in the daily repertoire of of Deutsche Oper am Rhein through studying and performing rôles of various sizes in scheduled productions of the main company, once a year the singers of the Opera Studio prepare a production of their own.

Both batches of Opera Studio performers have already followed this practice by recently bringing out Maurice Ravel’s “L’enfant et les sortilèges” (2009), Domenico Cimarosa’s “Il matrimonio segreto” (2011) and, as a German première, Albert Roussel’s operetta “Aunt Caroline’s Testament” to the satisfaction of Press and public alike.

For these productions by the young singers, venues separate from the two main houses were intentionally chosen: the Opera Studio was already guest twice in the sorting-hall of the former “Old Parcels Office” at Düsseldorf Station, and then as yet once in the small auditorium of Düsseldorf’s Schauspielhaus. In this way they brought opera to places which were unaccustomed and new for the public also and they could explore the novelty together.

***

PRODUCTION 2013/14


KARL AMADEUS HARTMANN
WACHSFIGURENKABINETT

On the 50th anniversary of the death of Karl Amadeus Hartmann (1905–1963) the opera studio has chosen as its own production Hartmann’s cycle of five chamber operas which he called his “Wachsfigurenkabinett". Musically Hartmann found his inspiration for these works in the mainstream of popular musical forms of his time such as jazz or the music for silent films. His librettist Erich Bormann, who was strongly influenced by the world of Berlin and Munich cabaret, wrote five whimsical miniatures which capture the beginning of the 20th century in momentary scenes similar in character to a wax figure exhibition, from the murder of Rasputin “”Life and Death of a Holy Devil”) through the anxious fears of capitalists ((“The Man Resurrected from the Dead”) and the consumer and entertainment scene in America (“Chaplin-Ford Trot”) to the daily life of the petit-bourgeois (“That so?”) and the brutalization of human feelings in times of economic need (“The Widow of Ephesus”).


The Opera Studio of Deutsche Oper am Rhein will be guests in "maxhaus", Düsseldorf.

DATES

Sa | 05.04.14 | 20.30 Wachsfigurenkabinett
Tu | 08.04.14 | 20.30 Wachsfigurenkabinett
Th | 10.04.14 | 20.30 Wachsfigurenkabinett
Sa | 12.04.14 | 20.30 Wachsfigurenkabinett

Send-A-Friend

 
E-Mail Adress Of Sender
Name Of Sender
E-Mail Adress of Receiver

Message:
» Absenden

Opernproduktionen

Eigene Inszenierungen des Opernstudios

(c) Frank Heller(c) Frank Heller
Neben der Einbindung in den Repertoirebetrieb der Deutschen Oper am Rhein durch die Einstudierung und Übernahme kleinerer und größerer Partien in Produktionen des regulären Spielplans erarbeiten die Sängerinnen und Sänger des Opernstudios einmal jährlich ein eigenes Stück.

Mit Maurice Ravels „L’enfant et les sortilèges“ (2009), Domenico Cimarosas „Il matrimonio segreto“ (2011) und der deutschen Erstaufführung von Albert Roussels Operette „Das Testament der Tante Karoline“ (2012) feierten beide Jahrgänge des Opernstudios Erfolge bei Presse und Publikum.

Als Spielstätte für die Produktionen mit den jungen Sängerinnen und Sängern werden bewusst Orte außerhalb der beiden Stammhäuser gewählt: Bereits zwei Mal war das Opernstudio zu Gast im Central in der Alten Paketpost am Düsseldorfer Hauptbahnhof und zuletzt im Kleinen Haus des Düsseldorfer Schauspielhauses: So tragen sie die Oper zu auch für das Publikum ungewohnten, neuen Orten und erkunden diese mit ihm gemeinsam.

***

PRODUKTION 2013/14


KARL AMADEUS HARTMANN
WACHSFIGURENKABINETT

Zum 50. Todestag von Karl Amadeus Hartmann (1905–1963) hat das Opernstudio als Eigenproduktion seinen fünfteiligen Zyklus von Kammeropern unter dem Titel „Wachsfigurenkabinett“ ausgewählt. Musikalisch ließ sich Hartmann von den populär-musikalischen Strömungen seiner Zeit wie dem Jazz oder der Stummfilmmusik inspirieren. Sein von der Kabarettszene in Berlin und München beeinflusster Librettist Erich Bormann schrieb fünf kuriose Miniaturen, die in Momentaufnahmen den Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts wie in einem Wachsfigurenkabinett festhalten: vom politischen Mord an Rasputin („Leben und Sterben des heiligen Teufels“) über den angstgeplagten Kapitalisten („Der Mann, der vom Tode auferstand“) und die amerikanische Konsum- und Unterhaltungswelt („Chaplin-Ford-Trott“) bis zum Leben der kleinen Leute („Fürwahr…?!“) und der Verrohung menschlicher Gefühle in ökonomischer Not („Die Witwe von Ephesus“).

Zu Gast ist das Opernstudio der Deutschen Oper am Rhein mit „Wachsfigurenkabinett“ im Maxhaus, dem Katholischen Stadthaus in der Düsseldorfer Altstadt.

TERMINE

Send-A-Friend

 
E-Mail Adresse des Absenders*
Name des Absenders*
E-Mail Adresse des Empfängers*

Nachricht:
» Absenden