Almas Svilpa (Wotan), Martina Dike (Fricka) | (c) HansJörg Michel
Die Walküre
Richard Wagner
Revival
Duration: about 5 hours, two intervals
Dates Of Performances
Theater Duisburg
April 2014
Sa  |  26.04.  | 17:00  Abo. E Online Tickets: 18,10 - 62,80 €
May 2014
Su  |  04.05.  | 17:00  Abo. Y Online Tickets: 18,10 - 62,80 €

Duration: about 5 hours, two intervals
ACT ONE

Wotan had seized the Ring from Alberich the Nibelung, but in order to fulfil his obligation to the giants for building Valhalla, he had to give it to them, and since then a dangerously tense impasse between himself and Alberich has developed. Without the power of the Ring Wotan must fear that Alberich can bring about the downfall of the gods. Wotan came under pressure to find a free hero to win back the Ring for him and with it his undisputed rule over the world. His first step was to father the twins Siegmund and Sieglinde on a human mother.

For many years Wotan lived as “Wälse” in the human world with Siegmund, with the goal of training him to be a lonely rebel. Sieglinde was sold off to Hunding, with whom she leads a forced marriage. In their forest home Siegmund happens to seek refuge. It becomes clear to Hunding that here is the worst enemy of his clan, but he acknowledges his right to shelter for one night.

Next day they are to meet in mortal combat. Sieglinde, who feels drawn towards the stranger, mixes a sleeping-potion into Hunding’s evening draught. She tells Siegmund of her plight and shows him a sword which, at her wedding to Hunding, an unknown visitor thrust into the trunk of an ash-tree, and which up to now nobody has been able to draw out. Siegmund proves capable of drawing the sword from the tree; he and Sieglinde realize that they are the long-parted Wälsung twins, and they unite in physical love.


ACT TWO

Wotan instructs Brünnhilde, his favourite Valkyrie daughter, to see that Siegmund defeats Hunding in the coming combat. But his consort Fricka opens his eyes to the falseness of this move. She does not only defend Hunding’s rights as a husband, but also dismisses Wotan’s favouring Siegmund as mere abuse of power for the sake of his own plans for the future. She demands that Siegmund should lose the battle. Wotan recognizes his plan as a failure, gives way and countermands his instruction to Brünnhilde.

Brünnhilde appears to Siegmund to prophesy his imminent death and transfer to Valhalla as a dead hero. But for Siegmund the interests of Sieglinde are more important than any heroic ideals. Deeply moved by his unswerving loyalty, Brünnhilde ignores Wotan’s command and supports Siegmund in the battle. Wotan sees himself obliged to intervene and to kill his own son Siegmundhimself, shattering the Sword. He also puts Hunding to death. Brünnhilde flees to safety with Sieglinde and the fruit of love growing in her.


ACT THREE

Brünnhilde flees before Wotan’s wrath to her sister Valkyries, whom Wotan had once brought into being as his private force to secure victory and world domination for him. Brünnhilde begs the other Valkyries to protect her, but they fear Wotan, and therefore she first sees that Sieglinde escapes, and then turns to face her mighty father alone.

Wotan’s punishment is stern. He disowns her as his daughter and leaves her at the mercy of any man into whose hands she may fall. At her imploration he relents and instals a wall of fire to surround Brünnhilde, which only a fearless hero may penetrate. Thus the concept of human freedom which Wotan had envisaged and then all but abandoned has a new chance to prevail.

Send-A-Friend

 
E-Mail Adress Of Sender
Name Of Sender
E-Mail Adress of Receiver

Message:
» Absenden

Almas Svilpa (Wotan), Martina Dike (Fricka) | (c) HansJörg Michel
Die Walküre
Richard Wagner
Wiederaufnahme
Dauer: ca. 5 Stunden, zwei Pausen
Termine
Theater Duisburg
April 2014
Sa  |  26.04.  | 17:00  Abo. E Online Tickets: 18,10 - 62,80 €
Mai 2014
So  |  04.05.  | 17:00  Abo. Y Online Tickets: 18,10 - 62,80 €

Dauer: ca. 5 Stunden, zwei Pausen
ERSTER AUFZUG

Seit Wotan auf den Ring des Alberich zur Einlösung der Verträge mit den Riesen wieder verzichten musste, ist zwischen ihm und dem Nibelungen eine gefährliche Patt-Situation entstanden. Durch Alberich droht den Göttern der Untergang. Wotan steht unter dem Druck, einen freien Helden schaffen zu müssen, der ihm den Ring und damit die Herrschaft über die Welt zurückgewänne. Er startet ein Experiment und zeugt mit einer
Menschenfrau das Zwillingspaar Siegmund und Sieglinde.

Mit Siegmund zieht er viele Jahre durch die Welt, um ihn zum einsamen Rebellen zu erziehen. Sieglinde wird an Hunding verschachert, mit dem sie in erzwungener Ehe lebt. Hier findet Siegmund Zuflucht. Hunding erkennt in ihm den ärgsten Feind seiner Sippe, gewährt ihm jedoch das Gastrecht für eine Nacht.

Am nächsten Morgen soll er sich ihm zum Zweikampf stellen. Sieglinde, die eine starke Zuneigung zu dem Fremden spürt, würzt Hundings Nachttrunk mit einem Schlafmittel. Sie erzählt Siegmund von ihrem Schicksal und zeigt ihm ein Schwert, das ein Unbekannter an ihrem Hochzeitstag in den Stamm einer Esche gestoßen hatte und das niemand bisher gewinnen konnte. Siegmund vermag es, das Schwert aus dem Stamm zu reißen. Siegmund und Sieglinde erkennen sich als leibliche Geschwister und vereinigen sich als Liebespaar.


ZWEITER AUFZUG

Wotan beauftragt seine Lieblingstocher Brünnhilde, Siegmund im Kampf gegen Hunding siegen zu lassen. Doch Fricka, seine Gemahlin, führt ihm den Selbstbetrug vor Augen. Sie verteidigt nicht nur die Rechtlichkeit der Ehe, sondern weist Wotan nach, dass seine Zukunftshoffnung Siegmund nur das willfährige Instrument seines Willens ist. Fricka verlangt, dass Siegmund falle. Wotan sieht sein Experiment als gescheitert an. Er widerruft seine Weisung an Brünnhilde und kapituliert.

Brünnhilde verkündet Siegmund den Tod mit der Aussicht, als Held in Walhall einzugehen. Doch für Siegmund ist Sieglinde wichtiger als alle Heldenehre. Tiefberührt von seiner unbeirrbaren Liebe trotzt Brünnhilde dem Befehl des Göttervaters und steht Siegmund im Kampf zur Seite. Das zwingt Wotan, selbst einzugreifen und sein Geschöpf Siegmund zu töten. Auch Hunding wird liquidiert. Brünnhilde rettet Sieglinde und die in ihr keimende Frucht der Liebe.


DRITTER AUFZUG

Brünnhilde flüchtet sich vor dem Zorn Wotans zu ihren Schwestern, den Walküren, die Wotan einst als Wehrstaffel zur Rekrutierung einer schlagkräftigen Privatarmee ausbilden ließ. Die Schwestern sollen ihr helfen, Sieglinde zu schützen. Doch sie fürchten Wotan. So beschließt Brünnhilde, sich dem Göttervater allein entgegenzustellen, und drängt Sieglinde zur Flucht.

Wotan straft Brünnhilde hart: Er sagt sich von seiner Tochter los und liefert sie dem erstbesten männlichen Eroberer aus. Auf ihr Bitten hin gewährt er Brünnhilde einen Feuerschutz, den nur ein furchtloser Held zu überwinden vermag. So findet das Experiment „freier Mensch“, von dem sich Wotan bereits verabschiedet hatte, eine Fortsetzung.

Send-A-Friend

 
E-Mail Adresse des Absenders*
Name des Absenders*
E-Mail Adresse des Empfängers*

Nachricht:
» Absenden